Car Accidents in Savannah

Christopher Simon Attorney at Law's attorneys have over 35 years combined experience representing clients in automobile cases, and understand that personal interaction between client and lawyer is essential to the successful resolution of these cases. When you call to discuss your situation with our firm, you will speak to our lawyers and not to a "case manager."

Step by step instructions on what to do after a car accident

The Key things you need to know to evaluate your case are:

  1. How much visible damage is there to the cars. This is the most important factor in determining how the claim will be handled by the insurer and the jury.
  2. What is the nature of your injury and the expertise of the doctors treating you. You can claim the gross total of your medical bills, but the medical care needs to commence soon after the crash and be administered by professionals.
  3. The amount of insurance coverage the other driver has and the amount of uninsured motorist coverage.
  4. The county the defendant lives in and whether they are an individual or a corporation. Juries cannot be told there is insurance in the case and their political views and assessment of the defendant's ability to pay a big judgment affects their evaluation.

Deciding whether to hire a lawyer for your claim is an important decision and depends on many factors. Likewise, our firm’s decision about whether to accept a new case requires the same level of thought. We accept only those cases in which we believe we can add more than enough value for the client to cover our cost. If we cannot, we are glad to provide a free consultation so that you will be better informed as you deal with your claim. While the decision to hire a lawyer requires careful consideration, the decision to call for free advice is an easy one.

Christopher Simon has written a book on handling auto accident claims in Georgia. His book, The Georgia Guide to Buying Car Insurance and Handling Car Accident Claims, is a valuable resource for anyone wanting to understand more about how this often confusing process works in Georgia. It is currently available for purchase on Amazon.com.

How Much Car Insurance Does the other Driver Have

Georgia law says that the insurer must disclose the policy limits after a written request. Only State Farm actually requests the mentioned affidavit. OCGA 33-3-28.

The other driver may be insured on:
  1. The liability policy for the car they are driving.
  2. Their own car insurance liability policy if the vehicle is borrowed.
  3. The liability policies for any relatives they live with if the car they are driving is insured by a random stranger. 

How Much Uninsured Motorist Coverage Do you Have?

You can go online or call your agent and determine how much uninsured motorist coverage you have and whether it stacks on top of the at fault driver's policy or is reduced by it. You must put any uninsured motorist insurance policies on notice within 60 days of the crash.

You may be covered by uninsured motorist insurance:
  1. Through your personal car policy
  2. Through the policy on the car you were riding in at the time of the crash
  3. Through any car policy held by a relative that you live with.
Be sure to look into all of these alternatives.

Does it Matter if I Was Not Wearing a Seatbelt?

It can matter if you were ejected from the vehicle because then the jury will be aware that you were not wearing it, but otherwise, no. Why? Because although Georgia requires people to wear seatbelts, there is a specific Georgia law that says the fact that you were not wearing your seatbelt cannot be admitted at trial. See OCGA Sec.40-8-76.1(d). The Georgia Supreme Court has upheld the Constitutionality of this statute in CW Matthews v. Gover, 263 Ga. 108 (1993).